the Violet
The Life and Works of David Lindsay

The Violet is a site dedicated to fantasy writer David Lindsay, author of A Voyage to Arcturus, The Haunted Woman, and other works, including, of course, The Violet Apple.

The aim of the site is twofold: to introduce Lindsay to those who don't know about him, and to provide more information about his life and works for those who want to find out more.

For a quick introduction to the man and his works, see Who is David Lindsay? To delve deeper, use the menu on the left to learn more about his life & works.

The Scottish Storytelling Centre in Edinburgh is hosting an international online symposium to mark the centenary of the publication of A Voyage to Arcturus, and the 75th anniversary of the death of David Lindsay, on 9th December 2020, from 1pm to 6pm. You can read more about the event on the flyer (PDF), and the programme of events (PDF). Tickets are available via The Scottish Storytelling Centre.

Cover image thumbnail
A Voyage to Arcturus (Russian)
Cover image thumbnail
The Violet Apple (Sidgwick & Jackson)
Cover image thumbnail
The Life and Works of David Lindsay
separator image

If you want a well-formatted ebook of David Lindsay's classic novel A Voyage to Arcturus with a reliable text, we have one for free, downloadable via the A Voyage to Arcturus ebook page. This text can also be bought as a hardback.

Latest news
Latest site updates
22nd Nov 2020 — Added Nina Allan quotes to the Introduction and What's it all about? pages.
19th Nov 2020 — Added link to Nicolas Geffroy's illustrations for A Voyage to Arcturus to the links page.
11th Nov 2020 — Updated the Scottish Storytelling Centre Lindsay event with a new flyer & programme of events.
Please note: This site is not official, nor in any way associated with the David Lindsay estate, so I can't answer questions relating to copyright, permission to adapt his works, and so on. I do welcome news and information about David Lindsay, though. Click on my name at the foot of the page to send me an email.
© Murray Ewing 2020